Riverdale: Review

Our story is about a town, a small town, and the people who live in the town. From a distance, it presents itself like so many other small towns all over the world; safe, decent, innocent. Get closer, though, and you start seeing the shadows underneath. The name of our town is Riverdale.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t want to see the show purely because of Cole Sprouse. KJ Apa’s body didn’t hurt either. Also It took me an embarrassingly long time to figure out that Camila Mendes was an actual person and not the love child of Camillla Cabello and Shawn Mendes. But yes I did it again. I binge watched yet another Netflix show in which 25 year old adults play 15 year old teenagers.

If you read the comics like me, take everything you know about Archies and throw it out of the window and into a bonfire because Riverdale is nothing like the comics. Archie has a fling with Ms. Grundy, Ms. Grundy isn’t even Ms. Grundy, let’s not forget the drug dealing, the quasi-incest and most importantly, Jughead doesn’t even touch a burger (blasphemy) I wouldn’t be surprised if Jughead’s hat turns into a fedora in season 2.

giphy
To Ms. Grundy-Every Riverdale viewer

Riverdale is like Pretty Little Liars except it doesn’t take 6 seasons for you to find out the killer. There’s less love triangle and more ongoing blood feud for generations between the Blossoms and Coopers Blossoms.

Archie is just a pretty face whose torn up between football and music. So he’s basically Troy from High School Musical. Veronica was okay, I liked her more in the starting episodes (but honestly how hard can it be to not kiss someone for 7 minutes). Betty was freaking awesome. I might be biased, but Jughead is my favorite character. Why wouldn’t he be after this scene:

giphy (1)
Same Jughead. Same.

Maybe Jughead doesn’t actually become a South Side Serpent? maybe he just thinks the jacket looks cool? In the original comics, Betty has an older brother named Chic, so I’m assuming he’s the Cooper/Blossom son who was sent for adoption. One thing that really bugs me (Bughead reference not intended) is that Cheryl literally tried to kill herself and everyone was nonchalant after saving her. Like seriously, Tea is not going to cure her possible-hypothermia and suicidal tendencies.

Reggie is Zach from 13 reasons why and Ethel is Barb from Stranger things. I see what you did there Netflix and I approve.

Season 2 looks promising though, FP is going to jail. Hiram Lodge is coming out of jail. What’s going to happen to the Blossoms (what’s left of them anyway. RIP Male Blossoms) Who kills Fred (the only decent parent in Riverdale)? such confusion much questions. I kinda want Sabrina the Teenage Witch to be introduced even though she probably won’t be a witch and will definitely be played by an adult. And hopefully we get to see Jellybean in season 2 *fingers crossed*

11 thoughts on “Riverdale: Review

  1. This made me laugh out loud xD
    I love love loooove this show!! And I can’t wait for season 2 – why must directors make us wait for so long?? but i mean they have to film a lot of long episodes and managing to come up with a new plot and do all that stuff in just a year is kinda awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This show is so fun and addicting. 😀
    Nice review for the first season! I can’t wait for season 2 to come out. I was really surprised just how much (and how quickly) I got into this show. Jughead is my fave too. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

