13 Reasons Why: Review

12

Spoiler Alert: She dies.

I’m about to tell you the story of my life. More specifically, why my life ended. And if you’re listening to these tapes, you’re one of the reasons why.

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker–his classmate and crush–who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah’s voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why. -stolen from goodreads

The world can be divided into the people who completely shun the show or the people who think it’s a work of art. I get it such hate, much controversy. I lie at the exact center of that spectrum, I thought it was…okay. The first few episodes were bweh, can we agree the reasons for Jessica and Hannah falling apart are utterly pathetic, at one point it morphed into an unnecessary rock climbing documentary. And when Hannah wanted Clay to stay even though she explicitly asked him to leave. eugh. It’s like Justin Beiber’s Sorry all over again.

I know this show is supposed to inspire much needed conversations but honestly I see more ‘Welcome to my tape’ memes than people talking about suicide. Which is just sick.

Some of you cared, none of cared enough.

However I shall admit tears have been shed, courtesy of episode 9-13. Resident asshole, Bryce Walker, the embodiment of all things vile about the human race, I’ll watch season 2 for the sole purpose of seeing you in jail.

I’m not sure if I’m equipped to say this, as someone who has never felt the effects of depression or suicidal thoughts, sure, I get depressed but having a cold and feeling cold are completely different things. Suicide is not a solution, it doesn’t fix things. Killing yourself doesn’t end any pain, it ends the possibility of  overcoming it eventually.

This show is filled with holes and is far from perfect. It does not encompass the subject which it deals with, however it is important nonetheless that it exists. As long as people figure out the shit they say hurts and that everything effects everything, it’s worth it (even though you really shouldn’t need a TV show to tell you to be nice to people)

If you hear a song that makes you cry and you don’t want to cry anymore, you don’t listen to that song anymore. But you can’t get away from yourself. You can’t decide not to see yourself anymore. You can’t decide to turn off the noise in your head.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why: Review

  1. I haven’t seen it–I just worry that it gives teenagers the romanticized impression that suicide is a great way to get back at the people who hurt you. Except in real life you’re dead, so you don’t get to see them suffer or feel guilty as you tell them what their role in your death was. Thanks for a great and honest review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. haha love your “spoiler alert: she dies”!! I hadn’t heard of the Welcome to My tape meme till you mentioned it- but now I’ve looked it up, it is pretty sick :/ I get why people like this- but one of my main issues about the book when I read it (a couple of years ago now) was that it was trying to deliver a message and failing miserably. But if people were positively affected by the show or book, that’s great, who am I to judge? Buuut having heard about that Welcome to My Tape meme and from a lot of people that have watched it, I don’t think it’s having the desired effect. Either way, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

