A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness:Review

So I didn’t think a 200 page children’s novel could leave me sobbing but here I am.

For those who didn’t read this book. READ IT. No seriously don’t even pretend you have better things to do, we both know you’re gonna be wordpressing for the next 16 hours.

This book was honest, emotional and broke my heart but then somehow repaired it too. This book hurts like hell, why? cause it has the ability to make you remember, it drags out those memories of losing someone and makes you re-live them all over again. It deals with pain and grief in ways I didn’t expect but is genius and beautiful. Now I understand reviews are supposed to dissect novels and what makes them move people and yada yada but doing so would ruin something and I wouldn’t be able to do justice to it hence I’m not going to try,  So here’s the synopsis and a quote instead.

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

There was once an invisible man who had grown tired of being unseen. It was not that he was actually invisible. It was that people had become used to not seeing him.

And if no one sees you, are you really there at all?”

Anyway excuse me while I try to piece together my heart and binge read every other Patrick Ness book in existence. Meanwhile,

read book

P.S Does anyone know where I can purchase the monster (who I imagine as groot minus the limited vocabulary for some reason)

4 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness:Review

  1. AHA I looooove how you write, literally started laughing at the first sentence and smirking at being on “wordpress for the next 16 hours” aha love this and definitely going to check out this book sometime! It sounds crazy good for being a children’s novel??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

